Urs Raussmüller and Robert Ryman (*1930) have enjoyed a particularly long and close association, which manifested itself from the 1970s onwards in many exhibitions and work installations. With the new presentation of paintings from fifty years of Ryman’s career in the Hallen für Neue Kunst under the title “Advancing the Experience” (2008–2014), this association reached a high point of unsurpassed intensity and beauty (see the numerous Raussmüller publications on Robert Ryman).

Ryman has expanded the traditional means of painting to include the interplay of the painted surface with the lighting and surrounding space of the installation setting. His works are more than paintings: they are “instruments” active in multiple dimensions. They do not end at their edges, but marry themselves with the surrounding space through the differentiated manner of their transition to the wall. Each of Ryman’s paintings is an individually designed reflective surface for the incident light – the crucial additional material required to bring out the work’s unique quality. Light is absorbed and re-emitted by the different shades of white making up the calm or animated, flat or impasto paint surface. With the use of technical materials as painting ground and wall mount, Ryman intensifies the subtle interplay of the whole into previously unknown effects.

As an outstanding connoisseur of Ryman’s oeuvre and the characteristics of his works, Raussmüller has assembled a group of paintings of superlative quality (illustrations in the Raussmüller Collection catalogues).

Mit Robert Ryman (*1930-2019) verbindet Raussmüller eine besonders lange und enge Zusammenarbeit, die sich seit den 1970er Jahren in vielen Ausstellungen und Werk-Installationen manifestierte. (Einen seltenen Einblick hierzu gibt der Film Robert Ryman: On Painting von 1993.) Mit der Neu-Einrichtung von Gemälden aus 50 Schaffensjahren in den Hallen für Neue Kunst, Schaffhausen, erreichte die Zusammenarbeit 2008 unter dem Titel „Advancing the Experience“ einen in ihrer Intensität und Schönheit kaum zu überbietenden Höhepunkt (bis 2014).

Ryman hat die traditionellen Mittel der Malerei um das Zusammenwirken der gemalten Fläche mit dem Licht und Umfeld des Installationsorts erweitert. Seine Werke sind mehr als Gemälde, sie sind räumlich aktive „Instrumente“. Sie enden nicht an ihren Kanten, sondern verbinden sich durch die differenzierte Art ihres Übergangs zur Wand mit dem umgebenden Raum. Jedes seiner Gemälde ist eine individuell gestaltete Reflexionsfläche für das einfallende Licht, das als zusätzliches Material die Eigenart der Werke erst zur Geltung bringt. Das Licht wird von der ruhig oder bewegt, flach oder pastos in unterschiedlichen Weisstönen bemalten Farbfläche aufgenommen und wieder ausgestrahlt. Mit der Verwendung technischer Materialien als Malgrund und Wandbefestigung hat Ryman das subtile Zusammenspiel des Ganzen zu nie zuvor gekannten Wirkungen gesteigert.

Als hervorragender Kenner von Rymans Oeuvre und den Eigenschaften seiner Werke hat Raussmüller eine Gruppe von Gemälden höchster Qualität zusammengetragen. Abbildungen zu den Werken und fundierteTexte finden sich in den zahlreichen Katalogen zu Robert Ryman der Raussmüller Collection.