Tag Archives: publikation

New Publications on Jannis Kounellis

Since the 1960ies Jannis Kounellis has created artworks that stand out for their strong physical and emotional force. They consist of materials of everyday life and even incorporate life itself: fragments of the real world, like animals, plants, coal or hair are included into “scenic” situations of unmatched poetry and vibrancy. By overcoming the gap between art and reality, Kounellis has had a lasting influence on the development of art – much beyond the concept of Arte Povera.

Three major works in this development are now the subject of distinctive monographs of Raussmüller Collection. With enlightening texts by Christel Sauer and informative large-scale images the booklets give access to a leading artist of our time and his groundbreaking three-dimensional “images”.

Find out more about the new publications in our bookshop.

La Banque et le critique by Marcel Broodthaers

Marcel Broodthaers, La Banque et le critique, 1964-1968

The work from the Raussmüller Collection marks a turning point in Marcel Broodthaers’ oeuvre. It is a model for the rejection of an object-oriented art in favour of complex, ambiguous installations. Taken from its original context, the golden front side with the words “Coupons”, “Change”, and “Ordres de bourse” still reminds us of the origin of the counter in the world of money. But the windows are painted over; the look through the glass is blocked. Looking on the back side, we see another picture. The green side of poetry contradicts the first impression: as if it were a market place for poetry, we read “poemes” written by hand over the windows. Seemingly arbitrary combinations of letters on the other windows encourage the search for poetic meaning, while simultaneously contradicting a literal sense. Later, the bank turned from object to being part of a happening, where poets recited poems through the windows to the audience.

A retrospective of the work of Marcel Broodthaers is on view at MoMA in New York until 15th of May. The work from the Raussmüller Collection is prominently featured in the catalogue. After closing in New York, the exhibition will travel to Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía, Madrid, in October 2016, and to the Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen, Düsseldorf, in early 2017.

Schlagwort-Archive: publikation

Publikationen zu Werken von Jannis Kounellis

Jannis Kounellis schafft seit den 1960er Jahren einzigartige Werke aus Materialien des alltäglichen Lebens, die sich durch starke physische und emotionale Wirkung auszeichnen. Seine Kunst bezieht das Leben als solches mit ein: Tiere, Pflanzen, Kohle oder Haare – Fragmente der realen Welt, die der Künstler mit poetischer Imagination in „szenische“ Verbindungen einbringt, die er „Bilder“ nennt. Damit erreichte er bereits sehr früh einen Realitätsgrad in seiner Kunst, der sich nachhaltig auf die weitere Kunstentwicklung auswirkte.

Drei wegweisenden Werken dieser Entwicklung hat die Raussmüller Collection nun fundierte Monografien gewidmet. Kenntnisreiche Texte von Christel Sauer und repräsentative Abbildungen schaffen einen Zugang zu einem wegweisenden Künstler unserer Zeit.

Erfahren Sie mehr über die Publikationen in unserem bookshop.

La Banque et le critique von Marcel Broodthaers

Marcel Broodthaers, La Banque et le critique, 1964-1968

Das Werk der Raussmüller Collection markiert einen Wendepunkt in Marcel Broodthaers‘ Schaffen. Es steht exemplarisch für eine Abkehr von einer Kunst des Objekts hin zu komplexen, mehrdeutigen Installationen. Aus dem eigentlichen Bedeutungszusammenhang gerissen, gemahnt die goldene Vorderseite mit den Worten „Coupons“, „Change“ und „Ordres de bourse“ noch an die Herkunft aus der Welt des Geldes. Aber die Fenster sind übermalt, die Durchsicht versperrt. Blickt man auf die Rückseite, offenbart sich ein anderes Bild. Die grüne Seite der Poesie widerspricht dem ersten Eindruck: von Hand wurde „poemes“ über die Fenster geschrieben, gerade so als wäre es ein Handelsplatz für Poesie. Scheinbar willkürliche Buchstabenkombinationen auf den Fenstern bestärken die Suche nach einem poetischen Sinn, dessen Existenz sie gleichzeitig widersprechen. Später wurde die Bank vom Objekt zum Teil eines Happenings, in dem Dichter durch die Fenster hindurch vor Publikum Gedichte rezitiert haben.

Eine Retrospektive zum Werk von Marcel Broodthaers ist noch bis 15. Mai im MoMA in New York zu sehen. Im dazugehörigen Katalog ist das Werk der Raussmüller Collection prominent vertreten. Die Ausstellung wird im Oktober 2016 im Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía in Madrid und Anfang 2017 in der Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen in Düsseldorf gezeigt.