Tag Archives: ausstellung

Raussmüller Collection shows work by Bruce Nauman in Paris

Bruce Nauman’s first art work using photography, “Flour Arrangements,” from 1966, initiates a far reaching change in the artistic use of photographic techniques. The artist, who influenced generations of fellow artists until today, uses the medium no longer to represent an existing reality. With the present work, he makes photography an accomplice in an extensive artistic process. Instead of a mere form of representation, the medium becomes a wide field of experimentation of artistic practice.

The Raussmüller Collection is showing the exemplary “Flour Arrangements” from March 25 to July 17 in the exhibition “La Boîte de Pandore: Une autre photographie par Jan Dibbets” at the Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris.

Get more information about this fascinating art work and its history in our Highlights (including illustration).

La Banque et le critique by Marcel Broodthaers

Marcel Broodthaers, La Banque et le critique, 1964-1968

The work from the Raussmüller Collection marks a turning point in Marcel Broodthaers’ oeuvre. It is a model for the rejection of an object-oriented art in favour of complex, ambiguous installations. Taken from its original context, the golden front side with the words “Coupons”, “Change”, and “Ordres de bourse” still reminds us of the origin of the counter in the world of money. But the windows are painted over; the look through the glass is blocked. Looking on the back side, we see another picture. The green side of poetry contradicts the first impression: as if it were a market place for poetry, we read “poemes” written by hand over the windows. Seemingly arbitrary combinations of letters on the other windows encourage the search for poetic meaning, while simultaneously contradicting a literal sense. Later, the bank turned from object to being part of a happening, where poets recited poems through the windows to the audience.

A retrospective of the work of Marcel Broodthaers is on view at MoMA in New York until 15th of May. The work from the Raussmüller Collection is prominently featured in the catalogue. After closing in New York, the exhibition will travel to Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía, Madrid, in October 2016, and to the Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen, Düsseldorf, in early 2017.

Robert Ryman: Exhbition at Dia:Chelsea, New York

Paintings by Robert Ryman, that have been exhibited in the installation Advancing the Experience in the Hallen für Neue Kunst, Schaffhausen, together with works from the Raussmüller Collection, are exhibited in New York until June 18th, 2016.

For more information about the artist and his work, the publications of the Raussmüller Collection offer a range of informative and revealing books: Visit our bookshop!

Raussmüller Collection exhibits Jannis Kounellis in Milan

In a series of spatial installations, Urs Raussmüller and Gianfranco Benedetti – both well-known actors in the sphere of contemporary art for decades – show us from April 28 to October 10, 2015 why they consider Kounellis a leading representative of the recent development of art. They have selected works from Kounellis’ oeuvre which they see as benchmarks of a new, pioneering approach to art.
More…

Schlagwort-Archive: ausstellung

Raussmüller Collection zeigt Werk von Bruce Nauman in Paris

Bruce Naumans erste künstlerische Arbeit mit Fotografie, „Flour Arrangements“ von 1966, leitet eine weitreichende Wende ein in der Verwendung fotografischer Techniken. Der Künstler, der bis heute Generationen von Künstlern beeinflusst hat, verwendet das Medium nicht länger zur blossen Abbildung einer bestehenden Wirklichkeit. Er macht es mit diesem Werk zum Komplizen in einem umfassenden künstlerischen Prozess. Statt einer blossen Repräsentationsform wird das Medium in der Folge zu einem breiten Experimentierfeld künstlerischer Praxis.

Die Raussmüller Collection zeigt die exemplarischen „Flour Arrangements“ vom 25. März bis 17. Juli in der Ausstellung „La Boîte de Pandore: Une autre photographie par Jan Dibbets” im Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris.

Lesen Sie mehr über dieses faszinierende Kunstwerk und seine Geschichte in unseren Highlights (mit Abbildung).

La Banque et le critique von Marcel Broodthaers

Marcel Broodthaers, La Banque et le critique, 1964-1968

Das Werk der Raussmüller Collection markiert einen Wendepunkt in Marcel Broodthaers‘ Schaffen. Es steht exemplarisch für eine Abkehr von einer Kunst des Objekts hin zu komplexen, mehrdeutigen Installationen. Aus dem eigentlichen Bedeutungszusammenhang gerissen, gemahnt die goldene Vorderseite mit den Worten „Coupons“, „Change“ und „Ordres de bourse“ noch an die Herkunft aus der Welt des Geldes. Aber die Fenster sind übermalt, die Durchsicht versperrt. Blickt man auf die Rückseite, offenbart sich ein anderes Bild. Die grüne Seite der Poesie widerspricht dem ersten Eindruck: von Hand wurde „poemes“ über die Fenster geschrieben, gerade so als wäre es ein Handelsplatz für Poesie. Scheinbar willkürliche Buchstabenkombinationen auf den Fenstern bestärken die Suche nach einem poetischen Sinn, dessen Existenz sie gleichzeitig widersprechen. Später wurde die Bank vom Objekt zum Teil eines Happenings, in dem Dichter durch die Fenster hindurch vor Publikum Gedichte rezitiert haben.

Eine Retrospektive zum Werk von Marcel Broodthaers ist noch bis 15. Mai im MoMA in New York zu sehen. Im dazugehörigen Katalog ist das Werk der Raussmüller Collection prominent vertreten. Die Ausstellung wird im Oktober 2016 im Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía in Madrid und Anfang 2017 in der Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen in Düsseldorf gezeigt.

Robert Ryman: Ausstellung bei Dia:Chelsea, New York

Bis zum 18. Juni 2016 sind in New York Gemälde von Robert Ryman zu sehen, die bis 2014 in Zusammenhang mit der Einrichtung Advancing the Experience in den Hallen für Neue Kunst, Schaffhausen, gemeinsam mit Werken der Raussmüller Collection zu erleben waren.

In den Publikationen der Raussmüller Collection finden Sie kompetente und aufschlussreiche Bücher zu Robert Ryman und seinem Werk. Besuchen Sie unseren Bookshop!

Raussmüller Collection stellt Jannis Kounellis in Mailand aus

Die beiden seit Jahrzehnten in der Gegenwartskunst engagierten Akteure Urs Raussmüller und Gianfranco Benedetti zeigen vom 28. April bis 10. Oktober 2015 in einer Folge räumlicher Installationen, warum sie Kounellis für einen führenden Künstler der neueren Kunstentwicklung halten. Sie haben aus Kounellis‘ Oeuvre Werke ausgewählt, die sie als Fixpunkte einer neuen, wegweisenden Kunstauffassung ansehen.
Mehr…